Every Day’s an adventure: The White House and Kickball

While I didn’t participate in anything too profound yesterday, I got to see a glimpse of what  summer DC life is like.  First, lots of think tank meetings, which are institutions that conduct research and engage in advocacy for their issues.  One of our recent Badger Alumni, Jeff Wright, who will be headed off to graduate study at Oxford this coming year, helped to organize a conference on TANF that I attended yesterday. 

I won’t go into the details on the conference, except to say that it was primarily about how to improve TANF, an important part of the social safety net, when it is reauthorized in the next few years.

I’m not knocking think tanks, but last night was much more fun.  At Madison, my last two summers have been spent playing ultimate frisbee and hanging out at the Great Dane brew pub.  In DC, its all about Kickball, played on the fields surrounding the Washington Monument:

This is kickball, after all — yes, kickball, of recess necessity and grammar school superstars — and half the fun is just in playing a game that once seemed destined for playground nostalgia.

Washington lays claim to being a center of organized kickball. Besides DC Kickball and other smaller leagues, the city is home to the World Adult Kickball Association, or WAKA, the sport’s largest sanctioning body.

And as if a 13-2 victory wasn’t enough, we dominated the other team later 4-1 in a best of 7 series in flip cup at a local DC bar.  I was pressed into service after my team determined that because I was from Wisconsin, I must be good.  Go figure.  Along the way I met Democrats, Republicans, and team members from Texas, Tennessee, Massachusetts, and Bangalore.  All in all, it was a great night.

It wasn’t a profound day by any means.  But hopefully it serves as a reminder to my readers that those working and living in Washington DC are normal people that enjoy having fun just like the rest of us.  I also have my first softball game on Friday with the office team.  I can’t wait!

Explore posts in the same categories: Jon's Posts

3 Comments on “Every Day’s an adventure: The White House and Kickball”

    • Lindsay Bembenek Says:

      Shoot I posted it on the wrong post. This was supposed to go on the metro post. 🙂

      • jayen6 Says:

        No worries :-). Glad to know you’re enjoying it! Based on my experience, there is some need to cover some areas that are difficult to reach at this point. As long as the costs don’t outweigh the benefits, this looks like a great idea, especially with the street car to Georgetown, which currently has no Metro.


Leave a Reply

