The end is nigh: lesson’s learned

To all those that read my blog throughout the summer, thanks for your patronage.  But I’m sad to say that this is the end.  I’ll be leaving DC in ten days and I have several projects that need to be completed before then, so there will be very little time to blog about that last week.

This blog began with a vision that it would be a place for those interning in DC could come to tell their stories and tell the rest of our friends and family what it’s like to be a summer intern in Washington DC.  It was a great idea in concept, but unfortunately those of us that chose to found this blog didn’t quite understand how little time the fast paced DC life would leave for blogging.  We also learned that we would be unable to blog about much of what we’re doing at work.  However, I hope that those who decided to follow my somewhat sporadic posts were able to learn a bit more about the life of a DC resident.

I wanted to close this blog with a few of the lesson’s that I’ve learned:

  • Its very difficult for one person to blog on only one topic.  Quite often I would have ideas that would have nothing to do with life in DC, but chose not to write about them because they would be more oriented towards theology or Wisconsin commentary
  • Its not easy to make yourself sit down after working 8 hours and walking home in 90 degree heat to write a brief blog about that thing you went to the other day that was somewhat interesting
  • when you’re working in an environment where information and secrecy is at a premium, its very difficult to blog about what you see and hear every day in the office because that information could find its way into the wrong hands and seriously damage the efforts of your organization or boss to advance their policy goals.  I’ve even found myself censoring what I talk about in restaurants, because you really can never know who exactly is sitting at the table behind you. It makes me understand the reason why many congressional staffers that speak with the media do so on an anonymous basis.
  • Lastly, there needs to be a passion behind what you blog about.  It’s a great aspiration to help others to learn, but without a driving force or a purpose behind that information, it quickly becomes very difficult to continue the initial intensity produced by the first few blog posts that you write

These are lesson’s that I’m sure most bloggers have learned over the course of their experience, and lessons that I hope new bloggers can learn from.

That said, this has been a very insightful and inspiring summer.  I’ve met so many fellow Badgers in DC, read many books, gained a completely new insight into legislative procedure, and gained a better understanding of where I hope to end up after I graduate this next May.  DC is definitely on the radar, but most importantly I want to go where God takes me, wherever that may be.  Take care all, and God bless!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

